Author Topic: Emotions run the show in golf: Learn to Manage them  (Read 2980 times)

Offline ajim

• Verified Member
  • Cookie Points +0/-0
  • A writer by profession, a hack by reputation
  • Club: None
  • Handicap: 24
Emotions run the show in golf: Learn to Manage them
« on: April 05, 2015, 02:59:16 AM »
REMARK: Hi kakigolfers, dok baca baca terjumpa article ni, what a great article, moga manfaat kita semua, dan geng geng yang suka menyumpah from tee to pin tu baca juga ye hehe, menyumpah wont make your next shot better, just make you an annoying golfer. Golf is all about the next shot

ORIGINAL ARTICLE AT: http://www.golfwrx.com/289363/emotions-run-the-show-in-golf/

EMOTIONS RUN THE SHOW IN GOLF

How many times have you heard broadcasters say during a golf tournament, “If Rory or Rickie or Stacey or Inbee can control his (or her) emotions today, they can win this event.” That applies to you and me, too; if you don’t have an answer for your emotions, you’ll struggle to win, or not play as well as you’d like.

I know in my own professional golf career, negative emotions were a major cause of grief. I just didn’t have any answers when emotions spiraled, and started to go from hesitation to confusion to frustration and even anger. I was continually knocked off my focus by lingering negative emotions, and in my opinion, it was a game-changing factor in an inconsistent career.

I think we can all agree that golf is a difficult and an emotional game. In fact, understanding emotions may be more important in golf than any other sport.

Why?

Three main reasons

You are alone. There are no teammates to take the blame or lean on when you aren’t at your best.
Time is not your friend. There is far too much time in between shots to mull over what happened or what’s going to happen.
Chemicals don’t help. Stress hormones like adrenaline and cortisol that can help boost performance in other sports won’t help you in golf.
Check Your Emotional Muscles